CPAS Endowment

CPAS Endowment

The Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science Endowment was established to fund prizes for undergraduate students studying science communication at the ANU.

Five prizes were created in conjunction with the Endowment. Two of them reward students who achieve excellence in science communication across first year or a whole major. The other three are awarded to students who achieve highly in one assignment (a second year live presentation, third or fourth year research thesis or report, or outreach assignment completed at any undergraduate year level). The Endowment recognises that few people are excellent at everything, but many people can be excellent at one thing, especially with the right support.

The Endowment was established by Dr Lindy Orthia, a lecturer at the Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science (CPAS), with $4000 of the prize money she was awarded when she won a Colleges of Science Award for Teaching Excellence in 2012.

That amount was generously matched by the joint Colleges of Science, via the then Director of Science Education, Professor Richard Baker.

The generosity of subsequent donors has continued to increase the capital amount that will be used each year to fund the five student prizes. If you make a donation, please contact CPAS Admin, so they can add your name to the roll of honour.

Major donors

  • Lindy Orthia (Founding Donor)
  • ANU Joint Colleges of Science, matched funds (Founding Donor)
  • Suzette Searle
  • Dick Osborn, in the memory of Fay Osborn
  • Professor Sue Stocklmayer
  • Regan Forrest
  • McIntyre family
  • Anonymous benefactor
  • Dylan Barker