Congratulations to winners of the ANU Science Communication Prizes for 2015

Friday 29 July 2016
Professor Sue Stocklmayer, former CPAS Director; Jennifer Colley, winner of the Science Communication Undergraduate Research Prize and a University Medal; and Adam Huttner-Koros, winner of the Sue Stocklmayer Prize for Science Communication Major.

CPAS congratulates five students who demonstrated excellence in their 2015 science communication studies, who were awarded with ANU science communication prizes at the annual Colleges of Science Prizes, Awards and Scholarships Presentation tonight.

Three of the students were present at the ceremony to receive their prizes.

Adam Huttner-Koros received the Sue Stocklmayer Prize for Science Communication Major, for his outstanding performance in his science communication courses across his degree.

Ann Plummer received the Chris Bryant and Mike Gore Prize for Science Outreach for her outstanding blog post written for SCOM1001.

Jennifer Colley received the Science Communication Undergraduate Research Prize for her outstanding honours thesis, which also garnered here a University Medal.

Also winning prizes, but unfortunately unable to be present to receive them, were Carmel Foley, winner of the Science Presentation Prize for Second Year, and Georgia Elliott, winner of the First Year Science Communication Prize.

A number of past and present science communication students were recognised for their achievements in other disciplines as well, and CPAS also congratulates those students.

The scholarship, prize and commendation presenters were the ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt, the Dean of the College of Medicine, Biology and Environment Professor Kiaran Kirk, and the Dean of the College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences Professor Andrew Roberts. CPAS Graduate Convener Dr Will Grant was the evening's wonderful MC.

CPAS alumni and friends are warmly invited to consider donating to the Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science Endowment that funds the prizes each year. Our heartfelt thanks are extended to those who have generously donated in the past, making the prizes possible. Donations are tax deductible.

Image gallery

Updated:  24 February 2018/Responsible Officer:  CPAS web officer/Page Contact:  CPAS webmaster