Honorary Professor Mike Gore AO

BSc Hons (Electrical Engineering), PhD
Adjunct Professor

Professor Mike Gore obtained his PhD at Leeds University in electrical engineering. He came to Australia from Lancashire in 1962, joining the academic staff of the Australian National University where he was to teach Physics for the next 25 years. In 1980 his great love of teaching - both students and the general public - was the spur that led to him to establish, under the auspices of ANU, Australia's first interactive science centre - Questacon.

In the following decade he was for a time scientific advisor to the ABC television series "Towards 2000". In 1982 he was 'Canberran of the Year' and was awarded a Churchill Fellowship. In 1986 he was created a Member of the Order of Australia (AM), for "his services to science education". The following year he received a special award from the "Beyond 2000" television team for his role in promoting public science education.

In 1987 he left academia and became the foundation director of Questacon - The National Science and Technology Centre. In 1992 Dr Gore and Questacon were jointly awarded the ABC's prestigious Eureka Prize for "the public promotion of science". Mike retired as director of Questacon at the end of 1999 and returned to ANU where he is an Adjunct Professor in Science Communication in the University's National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science. He (and Questacon) continue to receive awards nationally and internationally for the promotion of science. Most recently Mike was awarded the 2005 Academy Medal of the Australian Academy of Science.

Mike was recognised for his services to physics at ANU by the naming of the Mike Gore Physics Education Precinct in the Research School of Physics and Engineering in February 2018.