The Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science (CPAS) is an academic department of The Australian National University. It was established to teach, research and conduct outreach activities in the disciplinary area of science communication.

From an administrative perspective CPAS sits within the ANU College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences. In practice CPAS people also work closely with the ANU College of Medicine, Biology and Environment. Our students are drawn from all areas of science and from cross-disciplinary areas of the arts, law and policy.

Executive staff members

Director: Professor Joan Leach

Deputy Director: Dr Rod Lamberts

Executive Officer and Centre Manager: Dr Tegan Donald

Associate Director Science Education: Dr Lindy Orthia

Graduate Convener: Dr Will Grant

Honours Convener: Dr Merryn McKinnon


Updated:  23 May 2017/Responsible Officer:  CPAS web officer/Page Contact:  CPAS webmaster